Hi. My Name Is Chrystal and I'm Skinny Fat

I’ve shared with you before when I’ve gotten into a slump. A rut. Fallen off the proverbial wagon. Whatever cute little phrase you’d like to use for “got lazy”. I struggle just like anyone else. Although I do have a personal training certification, it’s not what I do for a living. In fact, I really don’t use it at all. I don’t have the time! I’m just like most people out there trying to make everything fit into 24 hours. Kids, spouse, career, house, etc. It’s not easy and a have my share of struggles just like anyone else.

When I’m struggling, my go-to is cardio. I love the cardio classes because I’m good at being directed. I particularly love spin because it pushes me more than any other class I’ve taken. If someone tells me to go fast, I try to go faster than anyone else in the class. If she says to turn the resistance up to a 6, I like to go to 8. I can push in that kind of environment.

Strength training, to me is, well…boring. I know it’s super crazy important but while I’m standing there lifting weights, I’m thinking of all the other crap I could be doing. I’m looking at the people who are looking at me. I’m wondering where the cute blonde chick got her shorts. I’m easily distracted. So, I haven’t been lifting at all like I should recently.

I joined a new gym since my contract was up at my former gym. I was hopeful that a new environment and different classes would be the kick in the ass I need to get back on that proverbial wagon. Along with my new gym membership came a free assessment with a personal trainer and some free sessions. I had my assessment this week and I left there feeling like I was going to puke and I haven’t stopped thinking about it since.

My cardio health was superior. No surprise there really, after all I spin regularly. My flexibility was very good. (That sort of surprised me because I don’t feel flexible at all.) My strength was good based on a push up test. My body fat…was considered unhealthy. Yes, UNHEALTHY. Now, I knew it would be good. I can tell the difference in my body from just a year ago. But I didn’t expect to hear the % that I did. I am skinny fat. The term used to describe someone who is thin, but has too much body fat. It’s not something you want, to say the least.

And for the record, I will share that insanely high number with you. Just not yet. I’m still processing it.

So, what did I do with this information? Well, I sulked and pouted like any self-respecting girl would do. I went home and told my hubby. He said, “no problem. Just start strength training and you’ll get to your goal in no time.” Hmmph. I prefer to pout. I talked to my good friend Tiffany. She reminded me I wanted a goal and now I have one. To reduce my body fat. Look, I’m glad to have a support system. I realize how lucky I am. I also realize that even though my body fat % is totally out of whack, I’m at a healthy weight and wear a small size (still skinny fat). But right then, I felt like a big fat slob and I just wanted to wallow in it. So I did.

I sulked around for a couple of days. I went to spin class. Then I got called out by another personal trainer. One who has years of experience and loads of certifications. Serious certifcations. He messaged me privately and reminded me that spin class is NOT strength training and I will never reach my goals if I don’t suck it up and strength train. (He said it way nicer than this. In fact, I was totally not offended at all.) That was just the kick in the ass I needed to stop whining and start working.

I plan to increase my lean muscle mass, and in turn drop body fat in the next few months. Like I said, once it goes down a little, I’ll share the numbers with you. I’m just too horrified to write it right now. I’m going to share this journey with all of you and write about what works and what doesn’t and what sucks and what doesn’t. I did do strength training yesterday. REAL strength training. I’m sore today and I feel pretty great about that. It’s on like Donkey Kong! So stay tuned, as a remember everything I already knew and just apparently chose to ignore.

10 thoughts on “Hi. My Name Is Chrystal and I'm Skinny Fat

  1. That’s why I like to do workout DVDs–I can combine my cardio and strength training so I don’t get so bored. Sure I have days where I just heavy weight train, but I much prefer interval and circuit training. I try to combine both worlds.

    And don’t worry. I’m sure you’ll get that number where you want it in no time. And don’t be too hard on yourself. I’d rather be skinny fat than fat fat!

    • ha ha Indeed! I don’t want to be fat fat either, girl! However, I don’t want to have skinny legs covered in cellulite. If only we could get paid for working out…

    • Hi, Jamie. I actually picked a couple off bodybuilding.com and made my own. I have my first session with a trainer on Monday and have booked 8 sessions this month. Hopefully that will get this party started! Thanks for reading. 🙂

  2. Atta girl!!!! I wasn’t a fan of weight training either until I started seeing my biceps and shoulder muscles. Someone actually commented on them and then I knew I was on the right track. Now, I love it! I hope you find love it in too!

  3. I’m with you – struggling and trying to get back on track. So I’ve decided that I just frickin’ need to shut up and do it. I’m tired of letting other people set my schedule and my life. So my new plan is that M-(W)-F is going to be gym in the morning with light cardio and strength training — interval plan/circuit training. Tuesday-Thursday is going to be evening, and some form of cardio — preferably something other than getting on a cardio machine at the gym. I’m not a class person for the most part. I have done Zumba and liked it, so that may be my cardio of choice…… or walking. I love to walk my dog but he’s gotta get with the program and go at my pace!! 😀 Hang in there, chica — we can all do it, and we all need to kick each others’ asses all along the way.

  4. Ha! I knew there was an ‘official’ name for it! “skinny fat”, that would be me. Try and explain that one to your friends who think you are in great shape, just because you happen to be smaller then they are. Can they not see the cellulite! I sure can and it sucks! I used to do and enjoy strength training but got away from it when I started running more… now the running is not happening as frequently as it should so what little muscle I had from running is now gone. I enjoy your posts and will be interested to know how you are doing! This may just be what I need to get me lifting once again :o)

  5. wow — i have heard of skinny fat but never realized it was an actual term!
    interesting!

    i am sure you will skyrocket right to skinny skinny asap.

    i never used to like any exercise — especially weight training & now I LOVE it — especially when i saw muscles forming! love my baby guns!

  6. Yay for strength training! I’m the opposite to you and trying to reignite my passion for cardio. I love hitting the weights hard and have noticed my muscles starting to become more defined recently. I’m doing the Jamie Eason’s Livefit trainer from bodybuilding.com. I love it because I can print out the guides to take with me, and know exactly what I have to do! No thinking required 🙂

Leave a Reply

